RSS Feed

From 7 to 5, The Most Memorable Women of Gymnastics

Posted on


Image from birdwings.tumblr.com

Most of the world has sat glued to their TVs in anticipation of watching athletes from their home countries and elsewhere around the world compete in a variety of sports for gold, silver, and bronze medals.

Women’s Gymnastics has always held a special place in my heart since I was a young 5 year old watching the 1996 Atlanta Olympics for the Women’s Gymnastics team. Naturally, I didn’t know at the time that the US winning gold in women’s gymnastics was so monumental for the sport that Russia and Romania had dominated in. All I knew was that these girls who were in their teens were capable of performing some amazing flips, twists, and tricks on uneven bars, beam, floor, and vault. I must have driven my poor parents nuts with my obsession with these talented 7 gymnasts, since they took me to a special touring event that showcased the skills of these “Magnificent 7” for a huge audience. Heck, I even remember trying to do some mock tuck and roll movements at home, dreaming that I could be as good as they were. (Sadly, I never pursued gymnastics as I got older.)

Fast forward to 2012 and I had only planned to watch swimming events when advertising for the Olympics started. (I missed the 2008 games due to a European music trip and came back too late to watch the events.) Then I heard lots of theories about the American team, possibly being the new “Magnificent 7”: Aly Raisman, Gabby Douglas, Mckayla Maroney, Kyla Ross, and Jordyn Wieber aka the Fab 5. Oh really? Prove it! I thought after seeing these advertisements. Sure enough, I watched and began rooting for these girls as they performed and overcame nerves and pressure to bring home the first team gold medal ever since 1996.

It feels odd to be older than the Fab 5, all of them except for Aly have never seen the Magnificent 7’s performances. Yet it was a real privilege to be watching history take place.

3 responses »

  1. Currently it sounds like Expression Engine is the top blogging platform available right now.
    (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

    Reply
  2. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I
    find this topic to be actually something that I think I
    would never understand. It seems too complicated and very broad for
    me. I’m looking forward for your next post, I will try to get the hang of it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

