RSS Feed

Happy Small Business Saturday

While I’m posting this a little later than I wanted, I’d like to wish everyone out there shopping a Happy Small Business Saturday!

This was started in 2010 by credit card company American Express to show support and love for the Mom and Pop stores found all over the world. Whether its buying fresh, organic produce from a local farmer’s market, shopping for accessories from an Etsy crafter, or buying something in a local boutique, you’re helping those small businesses.

I shopped at my local farmer’s market today and bought toffee flavored peanut butter from PB Peanut Butter, sun-dried tomato pesto from Basiltops, and Chipotle Bitchin’ Dipping Sauce from Bitchin’ Sauce.

PB Peanut Butter is located in Southern California and specializes in making fresh peanut butter with different flavors. It is lower in fat than regular peanut butter. Flavors include their Toffee (which they liken to regular peanut butter), White Chocolate, Chocolate, Cinnayum (cinnamon), and many more.

Basiltops makes their basil from freshly grown basil and pinenuts and combines the basic pesto with flavors like Sun-Dried Tomato, Diavolo, Lemon/Lime, and more. It is vegan by the way. (BTW, I’m not vegan but I have many friends who are – great product for those who are!)

Bitchin’ Sauce is an almond-based dipping sauce with a consistency similar to hummus. It is vegan and gluten-free for those who want a dipping sauce that is like hummus but gluten-free. It comes in Original, Pesto, and Chipotle varieties.

What about you? Did you celebrate Small Business Saturday?

3 responses »

  1. Awesome blog! Do you have any tips and hints for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely confused .. Any tips? Many thanks!

    Reply
    • Thanks for reading my blog! The best advice I can give you is to start with an idea of where you want to go with you website and content. This can be either a written plan or some basic bullet points scribbled onto a sheet of paper. Once you’ve mapped that out, check out the sites where you can host your own original content. I went with WordPress because my professor recommended it but check your options. If you want a paid option, there are some companies who will give you things like domain name, professional/high quality themes, and other add-ons to make your site great.

      Personally I like that WordPress lets you create a free blog and if you want to upgrade to a paid account, they have forums and experts who can walk you through the transition from a free site to a paid one with everything you want.

      Reply
  2. A large percentage of of what you mention happens to be supprisingly legitimate and it makes me wonder the reason why I had not looked at this in this light before. This article really did switch the light on for me personally as far as this specific subject matter goes. However there is actually one point I am not really too comfy with so whilst I attempt to reconcile that with the actual central theme of your point, allow me observe exactly what the rest of the subscribers have to say.Well done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

