RSS Feed

It’s Not Just a Backpack, A Smile was Worth It!

Posted on

Picture from Pkmncollectors LiveJournal

Great topic today from Daily Post that brought back a fond memory I had. Remember those arcade games where you have to hit a button at the right moment to land on a colored light to win a prize? They used to have those machines in the Starcade of Space Mountain in Walt Disney World’s Magic Kingdom.

I believe I was 8 or 9 years old when I saw one of these machines in the Starcade on a yearly trip to Disney World. Pokemon was all the rage back then and my favorite, like many other fans, was Pikachu. The machine held backpacks of the three most popular characters: Pikachu, Charmander, and Squirtle. I really wanted the Pikachu backpack so I asked if my dad could try to play the game. He must have attempted it about 4-5 times before we gave up. As we were walking away, an older girl came up to the machine and played it about 2-3 times. She won Pikachu on the final time and immediately handed the backpack to me.

I can remember how huge my smile was on my face when she gave that to me and my dad tried to pay her back for winning the backpack. She refused the money he offered her and she replied, “Her smile was worth it.” To this day, I still have that backpack. While I may not use religiously like I did as a kid, I still hang onto it for the fond memory.

2 responses »

  1. Aww..this is the kindest . Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  2. Awesome story, I hope the older girl remembers that moment as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

