RSS Feed

Friends? Acquaintances? Is That What You Really Are?

Posted on

After a fairly new friend canceled some plans on me again (due to a serious case of the flu), I kept getting the same question from co-workers, general bystanders who struck up a conversation about my weekend, and my family: Was this person really a friend of mine?

It got me thinking about the words ‘friend’ and ‘acquaintance’. Usually I identify the people I’m familiar with but not close to acquaintances and the people who I share interests or similar personalities with friends. I met this girl through some mutual friends who suggested that we connect at some point due to our love of Japanese street fashions, multicultural customs, and Comic Con. I’ve known her for roughly 2 3/4 years. We’ve only hung out three times tops.

This friend likes looking her best and tends to lean toward being more girly. I’m more of an urban, grunge chick with some touches of classic, punk, and eclectic all rolled into one. She is very vocal about her opinions while I tend to keep mine to myself.

I remember feeling annoyed at first when she canceled once again but at the same time, I felt bad for her getting sick. She has her quirks that annoy me yet at the same time, I like how she is one of the few people who will understand my talk about certain niche topics.

What do you all think?

3 responses »

  1. differences could be something that could bind you two together.. 🙂 I personally like people a bit different from me, through them I realise what life is… 🙂

    Reply
  2. I truly love your blog.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you build this amazing site yourself? Please reply back as I’m
    attempting to create my own personal site and want to learn where you got this from or
    what the theme is called. Thanks!

    Reply
    • Thank you! The theme is called Liquorice – it is a free theme offered by WordPress. I did create the concept and content but not the theme.
      Good luck with your own site!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

