RSS Feed

Beware of the Catwoman

Posted on

To some women, Catwoman is the epitome of being strong, beautiful, and dangerous. To me, I’m on the fence about her.

Don’t get me wrong – she has been pretty kick-ass in some of the comics, TV shows, and films. There’s actually a humorous short in a Catwoman book I own that describes how to use a whip on your enemies. (In condensed form, the short says to start out with the whip in your hand with a conflicted look on your face before whirling around and letting it fly. Besides, you’re no wimp girlie.)

I guess I’m not a devoted fan because she always managed to elude me in my life. As a child, I used to watch the animated Batman show when we had TV time at my daycare. The owner of the daycare happened to pass by when I was watching the screen with another girl named Danielle and she exclaimed that Danielle looked like a younger version of Catwoman who was just on the screen. I remember asking the owner whether I could be like Catwoman too and she quickly said I was more of a Batgirl.

When I got older, I happened to see a cool t-shirt in the Six Flags gift shop with Catwoman on it with ‘Feisty’ on it. I asked the clerk at the shop if there were any more and she said that they were all sold out and that the display one was just a sample that they had to send back once all of the shirts were gone. I ended up walking out of there with the bright orange Batgirl shirt with ‘Wild’ blazing across the front.

So long story short, it seems like I destined to be attributed to Batgirl’s characteristics and persona versus the notorious cat with the whip and form-fitting bodysuit. Which kind of works more in my favor – I was never that interested in stealing bright, shiny objects for my personal use like the cat.

 

Leave a Reply

