RSS Feed

Not The Girl (An Original Poem)

You have my number and I have yours

But it didn’t mean that you could hound me

Message after message during every waking hour

Sure it was nice at first

But now I’d rather chuck my phone at the wall

They are rapid-fire and never ending

From the simplest “Howdy do”

To the bizarre, “Now how about that book that every woman secretly reads”

I can’t stand to see them

Not when I’m busy

I’ve told you I’m tied up or focused for the day

But that falls on deaf ears

I’m dense but I’m not that dumb to not notice

Your not-so-subtle hints of us hand in hand

The other girl is just a fling

But I’d probably be the next one, wouldn’t I?

I will not take it seriously on the first date

It probably wouldn’t happen until several dates later

I won’t be the one kissing you sloppily in public

Nor will I be batting my eyelashes longingly

As you hold me close

I will not walk down the aisle with you tomorrow

That won’t be for several more years

I will not hook up with you

Because I’m not that loose

I will not build your hopes up

Because I know that you’ll be disappointed

I’m not the quiet, smiley girl that you assume I am

I’ve raised my voice to fill the room

I’ve snapped sarcasm and cynicism whenever it seems fit

And by the way, I do not find your messages “cute”, “adorable”, or “aww-worthy”

So save yourself the trouble

Go chase another skirt

Because I’m not your match

And I will never be “the girl”

Leave a Reply

