RSS Feed

I Never Did Want You to be Mine

Posted on

Disclaimer: F-bomb appears towards the end of the song.

This was one of the songs I discovered through Amazon’s Rising Stars section back in March. It has become my anthem for romance and love as a whole. Lately I’ve been playing it more, ever since I’ve been dealing with someone who has made it clear that he’s interested in something more than the acquaintanceship we currently have.

To put things in perspective, I’m in my early 20s. He is in his early 30s. While it might not seem like a big gap to some of you, the emotional gap is apparent. A mutual friend implied that he’s looking to settle down soon, especially since he’s at the age where most our mutual friends are either married, looking to get married, or they’re in a stable relationship.

Maybe it seems selfish but I’m not interested in chasing love at this point in my life because there are other goals I wish to pursue now in my life.

Right now I’d like to work towards writing more fiction if not do some soul searching via nonfiction blurbs from my life or someone else’s life. Like many people, I’m trying to find where I best fit in the working world, while paying off college loans. While I hate burning bridges unless I need to, I don’t feel inclined to lead him on.

Have any of you been in an awkward one way relationship with someone older or younger than you?

Leave a Reply

