RSS Feed

Unapologetic Poetry

Posted on

A few days ago the snippets of a poetry sample and assignment from my Honors Humanities teacher came to mind. He shared with us an infamous poem from William Carlos Williams that started with an announcement and ended with an apology. Like many teachers who have shared this poem with their students, he encouraged us to write our own takes on this formula that Williams presented.

I can’t remember the exact words I used for my poem, but I remember mine being quite tame compared to the variety of poems that came in. Why tame? It centered around the special needs greyhound that my family fostered then eventually adopted until she passed away last June.

I’m guessing that this poem came back to mind with the recent trend of the phrase “Sorry, not sorry” because I tend to read this style of poetry as a way to taunt, if not deliver a strong message across with deliberation. Rarely do we apologize with real meaning behind the words anymore – “I’m sorry” doesn’t seem to have the same conviction it used to have. Instead, it’s more of a throwaway phrase used to smooth over a situation that is tense or awkward.

For old times sake, I decided to give this style another go to see where I ended up:

This is just to say

I will not

date you or

speak to you again

 

because

we have

nothing

in common

 

Forgive me

I am

an old soul

and you are

still a kid

 

 

Leave a Reply

