RSS Feed

Your Voice Brought Back the Good Times

Posted on

How many people out here actually pick up the phone and call someone? Calling for a ride or to link up with someone else at a large venue doesn’t count – I’m talking about an actual call where you have a conversation with someone for a couple of minutes or longer.

There are times where I feel like phone calls are slowly becoming as archaic and less frequent as snail mail but then there are the moments where I’m reminded that the form of communication isn’t dead. After I spent my Saturday celebrating an early Mother’s Day, I called my grandma in western New York to see how she’s doing. The last time I saw her in person was almost two years ago when Mom and I visited her one summer. She sounded happy to hear from me since she and my mom talk most of the time.

And moments ago, my phone rang with a number I hadn’t seen before. Part of me didn’t want to answer it but curiosity got the better of me and I picked up. Low and behold, it was a good friend from my junior year of college. He and I never see each other since he’s moved back to the UK and has been working in the family business after graduation. It was great hearing from him and hearing his voice. Facebook chats and e-mails really don’t fill the void that a phone call can. To me, it feels closer – almost as if they could be standing next to you that moment.

How about all of you? Have you called someone recently and had a good time catching up?

Leave a Reply

