RSS Feed

It’s All Those Little Things

Posted on

I’ve heard many phrases used to describe life and the unpredictable nature behind living one to the fullest. For me, I believe that “Life is like a roller coaster. It has ups, downs, twists, loops, and corkscrews and you just need to strap in, take a deep breath, and hang on tight.” Everyone can attest to the fact that they will have good and bad days in their lives but its your choice to decide how you view things.

Writing alone is a struggle for me. There are times where I find inspiration in the smallest events, details, or things said. Then I get the dry spells where I feel uninspired and/or unmotivated to write. Sometimes my personal life tends to take center stage versus writing and it can consume me at times. Work was the main reason for my current case of writer’s block – I have been with the same company for almost 2 years and awaiting news regarding a permanent position. A few days prior, I received a phone call offering me a permanent position part time with my current team, which I happily accepted.

Yesterday I visited Universal Studios with my dad and we took the last tram of the day. A few minutes into the drive past the film posters, everyone in the third and fourth cars smelled burning rubber and saw smoke emitting from one of the wheels on the third car. We alerted the tour guide, who radioed the staff about the issue. At first the smoke went away and it seemed like things would be all right, until we reached the new metro sets. The smoke came back and the smell became more prominent, forcing the driver to pull us over and wait for 10-12 minutes to bring a new tram down to transfer us to. Nerve-wracking? Yes, especially since some passengers were speculating that either we going to lose a wheel mid-tour or some of the more cynical minded ones thought that the car could blow at any second. But while some people seemed unhappy about this happening, I was grateful that the issue was caught early on and I joked to my dad that it would certainly make for a memorable end to our day.

Where is she going with all of this? In short, life will not be a smooth course. It’s human to feel happy, stressed, sad, angry, etc. about the events that occur but I strongly suggest you never lose sight of the good times. With that, I’ll leave you with my favorite Dumbledore quote and a cute picture of my nephew dressed as Dobby the free House Elf.

“But you know happiness can be found even in the darkest of times, when one only remembers to turn on the light.” ~ Albus Dumbledore (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban)

A Little House ElfPicture taken by Angela Wang

Leave a Reply

